I.Wanna.Be.Your.Baby

I’ve heard these words a lot lately. Often after bath when you are wet and slippery in your Batman bath towel and you want to lie in my arms to warm up and snuggle. Sometimes when you have an ouchie and need to be held. EVERY time we visit Baby L’s nursery/

The other day you found one of his binkies and spent 20 minutes pretending you were sucking on it. 

That’s fine. I tell you that you will always be my First Baby and I try to explain that your brother will cry, pee, poop and need me a lot and that you will have to be my helper and you shrug, pat my belly and then run away.

I’m terrified of how this is all going to work out. You demand my attention ALL OF THE TIME. Honestly, you don’t really like to be more than 5 feet from me and can’t stand to be in a different room than me. I do not foresee a positive reaction the first time you don’t have me all to yourself.

And, I guess this is my fault. The other day a neighbor told me that she thought it was “weird” to breastfeed for 2 years like I did. She said she imagined it would create “attachment issues.” I agree….but I don’t think that’s a bad thing. You are a Mama’s Boy, but I’m not sure how long I nursed you had a lot to do with it.

More likely it’s the fact that I nap with you every day….and while that’s great right now when I’m pregnant, it’s also problematic when you fall asleep on my arm (see below) and every time I try to move my arm an inch to creep out your wake up and curl closer into me. My hips start hurting, Baby L starts kicking and I’m sweating…I don’t want to get up b/c I’d rather lay in pain for an hour and have the silence than I would have you awake and crabby.

Reeve, you can be my Baby as long as you want to be.

However, enough of this “I’m NOT your Baby, I’m Don Linny’s Baby” crap when she’s in town. You are MY baby and Don Linny doesn’t do anything but shower you with toys and Batman gear and suddenly you are HER baby? I don’t think so.

You are MY baby….until Baby L gets here…and then you are Chopped Liver.  Just Kidding….kind of.

Leave a Reply

