Wonderland

When I sent this picture to Daddy he said you were in Wonderland.

I tend to agree. Your sleep is mostly restless. We can hear your legs hitting the walls and you roam every inch of that bed. The only time you seem to sleep peacefully is when you aren’t on the bed, but half on the bed.

IMG_1817.JPGToday I took one of those rare naps with you for no reason. I had to sing to you and tell you a story (about elves and Christmas) and then bribe you that if you weren’t quiet the ghosts from Halloween were going to get us.

Finally you stopped moving. Your face was right next to mine. I knew that my breathing on your eyes would help them to close so I took deep breathes in and out, in and out. Your eyelashes slowly started blinking. Your eyes finally closed. You sighed that last sigh before succumbing to sweet dreams.

I woke up about 45 minutes in and after acrobatically extricating myself from the mattress, just stared down at you.

It’s so hard for me to believe you are only two-and-a-half. It’s not until I hear someone at Preschool call your class the “Tinies” or see your holding onto the blue rope used to keep you and fellow classmates in line. We have such adult conversations. You don’t want to talk about anything unless it’s to question Why or What or When or How?

You are so smart it just amazes us. You count from 1-13 then 16, 19, 16,19, 16, 19….so proud of yourself.

I just want you to know that I love you, Reeve Denver. Even when I’m exhausted and the house is a mess and you take your shoes off and dump pea gravel all over the newly swept floor. Even when you pull my hair out, kick me, spill your milk (sometimes on purpose) and most of all when you see me each day at Pick Up and run into my arms to tell me about your adventures.

You are a sweet, ornery little guy and I just don’t know what I would do without you

Screen Shot 2014-11-05 at 2.00.23 PM

 

Leave a Reply

