Spooooooky

Where does the time go? Seriously? A week has passed since Halloween? Gosh, it feels like we celebrated this holiday for weeks and weeks and yet it’s over before you know it.

 

I think, in total, Reeve went to 8 events where he was able to wear his Mummy Ghost costume. I’m surprised it lasted, being homemade and all.

For an entire year, he has told us he wanted to be a Mummy Ghost. Not a Mummy. Not a ghost. And he’s so damn particular that, left to us to translate what that actually meant, I’d say we nailed it.  He loved his costume from the second Don Linny whipped it up in her living room with one white pillowcase and the bag it came in.

He practiced his “Boooooo” and creepy walk and watched “Jack the Ghost” (Nightmare Before Christmas) approximately 947 times. Don’t judge me….perhaps it’s not the most appropriate movie for a 2.5 year old, but he LOVES it. I mean he sings the songs, knows the words and sometimes you’ve just got to do what you’ve got to do.

Here he is wearing his costume to school on one of the 2 occasions he was able to. In fact, he actually wore a Skeleton costume and a Spiderman costume to 2 of the 8 events now that I think about it. Each time he wore this I had to hand wash and bleach it b/c it got so dirty.IMG_1700.JPG

IMG_1709.JPG

Here are Kirk and I on Halloween night. In addition to having told us for a year that he would be a Mummy Ghost, he also informed us we would be a Witch and a Frankenstein. Daddy came home with this $50 mask and I pulled together my costume with a hat PPJ mailed to me (my big head wouldn’t fit in the ones I could find at stores) and this Dollar Store chain and striped tights that were 90% off the day OF Halloween at Michaels.

IMG_1752.JPG

Oh, out of order, but here he is at Target one day BEFORE school (yes, that happens when your kid waked up at 6:30 and the 3 hours before school even starts might as well be 12). He’s OBSESSED with Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and I had to drag him kicking and screaming out of the store. People were staring at us. I’m not sure if it was b/c he was such a mess or because a little Spiderman was funny to see. Yeah, I’m going with the latter.IMG_1745.JPG

Back to Halloween night.

I’m just going to throw this out there, but I looked MUCH better than I felt. A long day of running around had left me BONE tired and I literally got dressed 5 minutes before this picture was taken. I had grand plans to crimp my hair, but in fact, this is day 5 of not washing it. The hat did a marvelous job of covering up the roots.

IMG_1770.JPG

I should mention how much of a pain in the ass it was to try to get Reeve to sit still each time I had to paint his face. It was enough to make me want to scream.

Here is our Spooky Little Family outside our house. We looked so dang cute! Well, this picture isn’t the most flattering of my tummy area (the dress is the ONLY black dress I could find that had sleeves and is about 3 sizes too big)

IMG_1767.JPG

Here I am with Miss Leila post Trick Or Treating at the Brown’s party.

IMG_1789.JPG

And here are Reeve and I with Holly Go Lightly (Kelsi). He was loving this, as you can tell.IMG_1796.JPGOver all, this was my favorite Halloween I’ve ever had. Granted, I could’ve done without the weeks and weeks leading up to it, the night OF was just a blast. Kirk reminded me that I hadn’t dressed up in 3 years and made me promise I would do it every year.

Reeve is already telling us what he wants to be next year. Any guesses?

A Turtle. The Teenate Mutant variety.

I don’t know if I can handle another year of talking about Halloween EVERY day.

 

Leave a Reply

