Back.To.School.Feast

Tomorrow you start school,….and I’m really a mess about it.

You’ve gone to Nursery at the Gym (for an hour) and had 3-hour stints every other Wednesday at MOPS, but this is S-C-H-O-O-L.

Your brain will grow and you will eat a packed lunch and you will come home singing songs I don’t know and with craft projects like the necklace below that you made me today at Gym School.

It’s a looker. I wore it all day and had 2 women laugh at it. I love it b/c you love Halloween and you were SO proud of it. I cried when you gave it to me b/c you were so happy I wore it that you bounced. You actually bounced.

IMG_0829.JPG

 

We had Lucas and his mommy/daddy/Baby Leah over for a Back To School Feast.

You and Lucas were Knuckleheads at the dinner table as you sat side-by-side. I decorated with banners and streamers and a few other things….

You pulled Daddy into the Dining Room and said, “This is amazing!”IMG_0823.JPG

We were going to have Ice Cream Cookie Bowls via this cool Pinterest idea.

FAIL

IMG_0828-0.JPG

Tomorrow, after your First Day, I am going to read you these 3 very special books. Each has a wonderful message and Daddy and I wrote in them a special message just for you.

The Feast and The Books are traditions I am going to carry on every year.IMG_0821.JPG

I know it’s only Parents’ Day Out and it’s only 3 hours, but how is it possible already that I’m packing you a lunchbox and writing you notes for inside it?

Look at you, you are still my baby who hugs Baby Hannah.photo-5

As I laid with you in bed tonight and talked to you about school tomorrow, you asked, “Will you be at school with me?” I said, “I will take you and go to the gym and come back, Mommy always comes back.” You simply said with a sigh…”Mommy, that doesn’t sound like a good idea.”

😦

I know you will have a blast, buddy!  I’m already so proud of you and can’t wait to hear the things that come out of your mouth now.

Remember, Buddy,

We don’t send you to school to become the best at anything at all. We already love you as much as we possibly could. You do not have to earn our love or pride and you can’t lose it. That’s done.

We send you to school to practice being brave and kind.

Kind people are brave people. Brave is not a feeling that you should wait for. It is a decision. It is a decision that compassion is more important than fear, than fitting in, than following the crowd.

Trust me, baby, it is. It is more important.

Don’t try to be the best this year, honey.

Just be grateful and kind and brave. That’s all you ever need to be.

-Momastery

BE BRAVE….you too, Mom, be brave.

Leave a Reply

