Marvel

The words you will read below aren’t mine. They belong to Glennon Doyle Melton and they are perfect. Just perfect. As I read her words the hollow pit of my stomach felt full…Her words. Her kid. But my feelings too.

She put into words exactly how I feel today and everyday when I think of Reeve.

I marveled at how she could offer me so little, how she could, in truth, be such an incredible drain, and how I could still adore her so completely. How I could cry just thinking of her. How I’ve memorized every roll on her thighs, every red streak in her hair, the feel of her velvety cheek, and every expression her face has ever made. How there is nothing she could ever do to make me love her any more or any less. How she is already everything she needs to be for me. How she is a reflection of all that is true and good in me, because I made her.

When she started rubbing her eyes, I put her inside her crib and watched her fall asleep. I love her most at the moment she decides to trust me to keep her safe, and so her eyelids close and she falls away and just breathes. And when she awakens and I walk into her room, she turns her face toward me, throws her arms in the air and says Mama, and it’s enough to drive me to my knees in gratitude and awe and never get back up.

God gave me my little girl so that I might understand how God feels about His little girl.

If you don’t already follow Glennon’s blog, Momastery, bookmark it NOW. When people ask me what blogs I read, it’s the first one out of my mouth. Her book is UH-mazing….it literally pulled me out of the dredges of an 8-day stretch where Kirk was out of town.

IMG_6177

Reeve’s first candy cane….and just look at that belly (button)

Leave a Reply

