Last.of.the.pool

Our pool stayed open for 2 extra weekends this year. We headed up there Saturday to get in as much extra time as we could.

Reeve will be so sad when the pool is all gone…but not as sad as me.

This past week, his naps have been approximately 30-45 minutes. Without the pool to wear him out, we haven’t yet found a substitute. It’s still too hot to play outside all day and I can only throw a Superman action figure in the air so many times.

We have 4 indoor pools at our Rec Centers, but it just won’t be the same. And it will be SO much work to pack, get him in there, locker rooms, showers, get him changed on a table, keeping him awake for the 10 minute drive home.

I know there are worse things in life than no pool for the Fall/Winter (I call these First World Problems and often find myself embarrassed to even be complaining about such things) but any change in routine makes for difficult days for me.

Either way, we had so much fun at the pool this year. I will never forget the first time we took him on Memorial Day when he was 14 months old how he was TERRIFIED!  He wouldn’t even take a bath for a week without screaming. We kept going and going and before I knew it he was putting his head in the water, blowing bubbles, jumping, splashing and now he even floats in the Big Pool (with floaties) all by himself. He’s fearless and can kick his feet and scoop his arms.

I’m a proud mama!

Hoping for one more weekend up there, but in the meantime, think of me for the 30-45 minutes of naptime I get each day as your kid is getting 2-3 HOURS!  Seriously!?!?!  I’m hoping this is a “phase.” Just like I’m hoping to go to the bathroom without him looking between my legs or like I’m hoping for a shower without having to go so fast I forget to wash the conditioner out (yes, did that this week and I was a greaseball for a whole day until I realized it).

20130909-081644.jpg

20130909-081653.jpg

20130909-081659.jpg

20130909-081709.jpg

20130909-081717.jpg

20130909-081725.jpg

20130909-081735.jpg

20130909-081751.jpg

20130909-081807.jpg

20130909-081823.jpgAdios, Pool…..

when I see you again I will be over 26 months old and probably trying to dive into the deep end and give mama a heart attack.

 

Leave a Reply

