Daddy

We had a wonderful Father’s Day weekend. Saturday we hung out at home all day intent on wearing you out b/c Miss Amanda (babysitter) was to watch you that night while we went to a concert at Red Rocks.

Daddy and I spent the whole concert reminiscing about that night just shy of 2 years ago when we sat there watching Kenny Chesney & Grace Potter with the surprising news of you. I had told him after sitting on the news of my pregnancy at work for about 5 hours when he walked into my office to pick me up so we could head to the concert.

He just knew when he saw my face. I didn’t even need to tell him. He took one look at my face and said, “you’re pregnant, aren’t you?” and we laughed and cried and were in shock and happy and afraid all at once.

It’t hard to believe it’s been 2 years since that night in July when it rained so hard and we were so preoccupied with our news and shock that we don’t even know if we got wet.

Celebrating Kirk Sunday morning (after I participated in a Mud Run 5K) was pretty easy.

He’s the best daddy.

His love for you, for us, is more than unconditional….it’s more than that. I read this beautiful quote yesterday and I thought about all the concerts we miss now, all the baseball games we don’t get to go to, all the dreams Kirk had to put in a drawer for you. I read it to him and he laughed.

“This was my dream, Jessie”

“There are many different kinds of bravery. There’s the bravery of thinking of others before one’s self. Now, your father has never brandished a sword nor fired a pistol, thank heavens. But he has made many sacrifices for his family, and put away many dreams.”

“Where did he put them?”

“He put them in a drawer. And sometimes, late at night, we take them out and admire them. But it gets harder and harder to close the drawer… He does. And that is why he is brave.”

(Conversation between Mrs. Darling and Michael, from Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie)

But, seriously, I read this and I know that Kirk is the bravest daddy in the world. We are so lucky to have him. And just when I try to tell him those words over dinner after you were asleep and I was so tired I could hardly hold my head up (that 5K was HARD) he looked at me with tears and his eyes and told me that he cried on the pitcher mound during his game as he watched Reeve and I playing a baseball game of our own in the field behind 1st base.

THAT’S a good man.

We are pretty lucky….

Now, quit sitting on other kids and share you damn chair!!!

20130613-120225.jpg

20130613-120235.jpg

20130613-120240.jpg

20130613-120255.jpg

Leave a Reply

