i.was.reminded

I was reminded today of a year ago (yesterday) when you were a Bad Little Baby and gave us a horrible scare.

Kirk and I ended our night with a phone call that left a lump in my throat….and a tear in his eye.

While I was busy at the Emergency Room with Erin a year (and a day) ago, Kirk was in Vermont at a Grateful Dead Cover Show/Tribute/Birthday Party thingie….

he was there for work (Vermont…not the Grateful Dead show…his job is not that cool, trust me) when he got my phone call.

I was frantic in despair for a child who I didn’t even know. I was heartbroken over a soul I would later learn was yours.

It’s no wonder now that it hurt so bad, it’s the opposite of what I feel now…one must always be with the other.

Not being able to help me, hold me…Kirk coped as he knows best. Music.

I am not sure what song it was, but later he told me that in his worry they played a song about a little baby and it broke his heart and made him cry.

It’s a year (and a day) later. Kirk is back at that same spot listening to the same band/music.

In fact, he told me he was even standing in the same spot listening to the lyrics of Morning Dew when it hit him….

Well I know you rider, gonna miss me when I’m gone
Well I know you rider, gonna miss me when I’m gone
You gonna miss your mama from rolling in your arms

Well I know my baby he’s bound to love me some
Well I know my baby he’s bound to love me some
He throws his arms around me like a circle round the sun

Well I laid down and I tried to take my rest
I laid down and I tried to take my rest
but my mind it just kept wandering like some wild geese in the west

I’m going down the road where I get better care
I’m going down the road where I get better care
I believe I’ll go babe, I just don’t feel welcome here

Just as sure as the bird fly in the sky above
Just as sure as the bird fly in the sky above
Life ain’t worth living if you ain’t with the man you love

The sun’s gonna shine in my back door some day
The sun’s gonna shine in my back door some day
March wind’s gonna rise and blow my blues away

March winds did, in fact, rise and blow our blues away…you came to us in March and ever night, as the sun does shine in our back door we find ourselves throwing our arms around you like the sun.

The “Healthy Baby, Healthy Baby” mantra I used to repeat over and over worked….

I am so very glad you made it safely to us, Reeve.

I am so very glad I know you. That I love you. That your little head smells so sweet. You are so much more than welcome here, you are destined to us.

20120810-084305.jpg

Leave a Reply

