Denial

There is some serious denial going on in this house these days regarding the fit of clothing.

I am in denial that my ass is this big (I blame it on my hips spreading when I was pregnant and NOT the large amounts of chocolate and spicy chicken sandwiches) and that my belly still has that round pooch from housing you.

I refuse to buy bigger pants b/c I still maintain that as long as they go OVER my ass, they fit! I can’t button them b/c of my swollen incision, but they go over my ass dammit! Therefore, THEY FIT!

And Reeve, I can’t even talk about the fact that you no longer can fit in any of your Newborn-sized clothing!

I really can’t.

It’s just not right!

YOU ARE SOOOO LONG!

I mean, I look at you and I think to myself, “What is this kid, a freak of nature giant?”

I mean, seriously….he is SO long that his legs are nearly out of his carseat!

To pack up your cute newborn pants with tigers on the butt, your very first Jayhawk onesie, your sleep sacks, your “My Mommy’s A Rockstar” shirt just about brings me to tears. The worst though is your newborn hats. The dinosaur hat, the hipster gray hat, the beanies…oh, Reeve, those make me realize just how tiny you were and how much you have grown.

I never thought I would be one of those “I don’t want my kid to grow up” moms, but I am. I can’t believe it’s only been 6 weeks since they brought you to me in your pink and blue striped beanie….that I was afraid to dress you b/c I might snap your tiny little arms in half.

It’s been on my list for almost a week now to pick up a large plastic bin at Target to put your clothes away safely in for our NEXT baby (not due any time soon), but I can’t seem to do it. It makes it too real that you are in 0-3 months clothing….

and even those are too short on you. The width is okay, but your torso is so long that the legs of all your onesies come up to your thigh.

Denial about my own body gets harder and harder each day as I look in the mirror and think to myself, “Okay, you are 6 weeks post-partum….dude, get in SHAPE.” I have been attending Stroller Strides classes which are kicking my ass, walking 2 miles to the Sundial House and tomorrow is my first-ever Zumba class. I have to get in a bikini in 6 months for our Hawaii trip and I want to get in a bikini….

so, denial about my ass needs a reality check.

I am thinking about taking naked pics of my body and hanging them on the refrigerator so that every time I go for a pudding cup or cheese & crackers I put them down.

Oh, why can’t I just get lipo?

Leave a Reply

