Remember

The time I said his birth was so traumatic I didn’t know if I could do it again any time soon?

Well, I would like a brother (interesting, huh) for Reeve. I am ready.

Sleep deprived though I am, he is the best thing I have ever done.

I see him change so quickly. His cheeks filling out, his clothes too small and I already miss last week.

My friend Kelsi is 10 weeks pregnant and I am so jealous. Not “bitter” jealous, but “bittersweet” jealous. I long to be pregnant again and to hold Reeve in his first  moments of life. Cherishing the “now” is pretty hard when I am so focused on diapers, sleep schedules, laundry, which boob does he eat from this time?

Life is a little overwhelming. I love it, don’t get me wrong, but I am ready to rewind time just a little. It would be nice to remember his birth…to even feel like I did give birth. Just yesterday we were walking down the street and I couldn’t even believe that just a month ago I was pregnant and large. It all seems like a dream to me now.

A dream that I barely had time to remember and then GONE!

Thank God for this blog and the reminders it allows me.

My days go quickly and my nights draaaaaag on, but I hope I can remember this time.

This time when my breasts are milky and my nipples are sore and my incision is swollen and my hair is a mess b/c I don’t have time to get it done, when my toenails are painfully long b/c I also can’t find time to get them done. This time when I can’t button my jeans b/c of my swollen incision. This time when I look around and see piles of baby clothing that I can’t seem to put away. A bath is a luxury and a shower is better than a winning lottery ticket. Dinner isn’t ready when Kirk comes home like I had hoped and my eyebrows look like a caterpillar.

It’s all pretty overwhelming, but can I do it all again?

Kirk looks at me with shock on his face when I talk about our “next” baby, but he’s warming up to the idea. His love for Reeve is apparent and I know he will welcome another child into our family when the time is right…

sooner rather than later.

Irish Twins?

🙂

Leave a Reply

