never.forget

Ten years ago today I sat in my 4-person sorority bedroom with about 10 of my friends watching the horror that was September 11th.

Today, some of those same girls reach out to me with the same memories.

My hope for this sweet baby is that it never has to grow up fearing for it’s freedom or afraid to believe in anything. I pray that it knows it’s safe and that there are brave men and women fighting for it’s rights. I hope that it is tolerant and kind to others who are different. I ask only that it knows a world of peace.

Aside from the raging hormones, I can’t stop crying today b/c the memories of that day are so fresh. We woke up and I turned on ABC news with Katie Couric and Matt Lauer like I still do every morning now. I didn’t really understand why or who would be doing such a horrendous thing, but i knew that my dad would. I called him and he had no idea what was going on. He was out in the field doing a demo and hearing the shock in his voice made me even more fearful.

After being glued to the television for hours and having our classes cancelled, we went over to my ex-boyfriend’s house to watch on his larger television. We sat around drinking beers and conspiring what had happened.

Today, while driving to work, I wondered if the rest of the world felt as grateful as I did?

I am so thankful to be an American. To be free. To have people much stronger, much braver than I am to fight for my freedom. I am a coward. I could not do what they do. I could not stand on the front line. I could have run into those burning buildings as those firemen and policemen did to save others. I could not.

For that I am a coward.

But for those who aren’t, I thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Leave a Reply

