stripes.on.your.ceiling

i really, really want to Nest. I want to paint your room and buy a crib and stock up on onesies, but how can I when I don’t know what you are yet?  It’s really hard, how am I going to wait another 10 weeks (2.5 months) to know if you are a boy or girl?

I am still hoping you are a little lady, but have a boy name in stone if you aren’t.

If you ARE in fact a little lady, i am loving this room for you.

This room just makes me so happy. The funky pillow, the stripes on the ceiling and the lovely shelves and shelves of books. This would’ve been a dream come true to me when I was a little girl (and even now). I want you to grow up smart. I read this interesting article yesterday on “How to Talk to Girls” and it blew my mind. I want to be able to stop the people who stop you and say, “oh, you are so cute” and replace it with “she’s also so creative or smart or can read or loves to sing.”

The author goes on to tell that:

Teaching girls that their appearance is the first thing you notice tells them that looks are more important than anything. It sets them up for dieting at age 5 and foundation at age 11 and boob jobs at 17 and Botox at 23. As our cultural imperative for girls to be hot 24/7 has become the new normal, American women have become increasingly unhappy. What’s missing? A life of meaning, a life of ideas and reading books and being valued for our thoughts and accomplishments.

Isn’t that sad? That’s why I vow to put books and maps and to be your first teacher about how you are more than your body, you are your soul.

There is this great quote that i have always loved by C.S. Lewisthat says, “You do not have a soul. You have a body. You ARE a soul” and I want you to grow up knowing that you can do anything in this world. Your heart is true. Your words need to be sincere. Your actions need to be just and your looks are just something you HAVE and not what you ARE.

I love you, Little One. I talk to you every night. I put my right hand on my lower belly and whisper, “I love you….i need you….grow….be healthy….daddy loves you….be happy.” Daddy has started talking to you, but he says it feels silly, but I know once we can see you growing he will change. His life has already changed b/c of you. He is making plans for you and getting insurance and savings and all of those Daddy Duty items in order. His excel spreadsheet activity has increased that’s for sure!

Love,

Mommy

Leave a Reply

