to.those.who.wait

as I was driving to your daddy’s All Star Baseball game last night, I was thinking about how the name of this blog came to be.

I truly belive that good things come to those who wait. Now, i am NOT patient in the least.

I am always 10 minutes early, i ruin every surprise present intended to be give to or by me, i read the last lines of books, i get panicky when i am running behind or if someone is late.

point is…i don’t “wait” very well.

but i have waited my WHOLE life to be your mommy.

as a little girl, i didn’t play with a lot of dolls, i didn’t pretend to be a mommy, but i have always known it was my “job” to be a mom.

I have the best mom in the world. She is my best friend. We talk 3-4 times a day. We laugh alike, our voices are the same. And from the time i was old enough to know what it meant to be a “mother” not just a mom, i knew that was what i was meant to be. I have spent the past 10 years post-graduate bouncing from job to job trying to find that one thing that is “what i want to be when i grow up,” but, Little One, I have known with all certainty from the bottom of my soul, that what i “want to be” is your mommy.

So, good things DO come to those who wait.

After a 10 year relationship, i met your daddy. I felt as though i had waited my whole lifetime for my dream man. Your daddy is the sptting image of the man I dreamed I would grow up to marry. In my dreams, his name even started with a K.

Much like that dream, I dreamed of you….and you have come to me. So, now, after 31 years of waiting for you, i now have to wait another 9 months. It’s a test in patience, but I can do it.

I can wait for you….

Leave a Reply

